Home About Us - Main Page Our Chapters - Main Page The 'Old Line' State Herald Calendar     Maryland 400 - Main Page 250th Anniversary - Main Page   Genealogical Resources - Main Page Neighboring Societies Membership - Main Page Youth Programs - Main Page Contact Us       Member Section - Main Page
Maryland Society, Sons of the  American Revolution

Thomas Stone (1743 – October 5, 1787) was an American Founding Father, planter, politician, and lawyer who signed the United States Declaration of Independence as a delegate for Maryland. He later worked on the committee that formed the Articles of Confederation in 1777. He acted as president of Congress for a short time in 1784. Stone was a member of the Maryland Senate from 1777 to 1780 and again from 1781 to 1787.

Stone was born into a prominent family at Poynton Manor in Charles County, Maryland. He was the second son in the large family of David (1709–1773) and Elizabeth Jenifer Stone. His brothers, Michael Jenifer Stone and John Hoskins Stone, were also prominent in politics. His uncle was Daniel of St. Thomas Jenifer. Thomas read law at the office of Thomas Johnson in Annapolis, was admitted to the bar in 1764 and opened a practice in Frederick, Maryland.

Serving Calvert, Charles, and St. Mary’s Counties

Grave of Thomas Stone (September 2009)

Calendar Documents Pictures  Thomas Stone Chapter Patriot Graves


Officers

Telephone

Email

President

Michael Morthland

775-225-4452

president.thomas-stone@mdssar.org

1st Vice President

Jason Posey

301-399-5020

vpresident1.thomas-stone@mdssar.org

2nd Vice President

Eric B. Jones

410-394-0423

vpresident2.thomas-stone@mdssar.org

3rd Vice President

David Langford

301-373-8335

vpresident3.thomas-stone@mdssar.org

Secretary

Kevin J. Nietmann

410-259-1422

secretary.thomas-stone@mdssar.org

Treasurer

Eric B. Jones

410-394-0423

treasurer.thomas-stone@mdssar.org

Genealogist

Vacant


genealogist.thomas-stone@mdssar.org

Chaplain

W. Keech Edelen

301-752-2354

chaplain.thomas-stone@mdssar.org

Chapter Email - Thomas-Stone@mdssar.org

Annual Meeting - August

Click - If you would like to join       

Copyright © 2022 - Maryland Society, Sons of the American Revolution | All Rights Reserved

Maryland Society SAR Secretary - secretary@mdssar.org

Legal | Contact

Maryland Society SAR Webmaster - webmaster@mdssar.org


Powered by Interserver.net
Where Our Revolutionary Patriots are Buried

Click Here for Help and More Information