Home About Us - Main Page Our Chapters - Main Page The 'Old Line' State Herald Calendar     Maryland 400 - Main Page 250th Anniversary - Main Page   Genealogical Resources - Main Page Neighboring Societies Membership - Main Page Youth Programs - Main Page Contact Us       Member Section - Main Page
Maryland Society, Sons of the  American Revolution

The Henry Hollingsworth Chapter was formed in Cecil County on March 26, 1973 with 18 Charter Members after almost two years of planning and work. Kenneth A. Wilcox became the organizing President. The new Chapter was named for Cecil County’s most famous Revolutionary War Participant Henry Hollingsworth 1737-1803 who was the Quarter Master General supplying Washington and Lafayette’s armies. He was wounded in the throat by a musket ball at the Battle of Brandywine and retired from military service but became the District Commissioner for supplier and then Quarter and Forage Master General. After the war he had a distinguished career including serving as Justice of the Peace. He is buried at Elkton Cemetery and on Memorial day annually a wreath is laid by the Chapter.   The chapter has marked the graves of several Patriots buried in Cecil County, given out awards to deserving members of the community and sponsored Good Citizenship medals for local schools and has a great annual dinner in the area.

Col. Henry Hollingsworth was an enterprising and patriotic citizen. He was elected lieutenant-colonel of the Elk Battalion in 1776. He served during the campaign under Washington and was desperately wounded in the throat by a musket ball. In 1776 he entered into a contract to furnish a lot of gun barrels and bayonets for the use of the army. He was appointed in 1778 one of the superintendents for the purchase of flour, cattle, and supplies for the army, and was frequently engaged by the Governors of this and other States, and by the officers of the army, for means of transportation for the army during the war.

Serving Cecil County

Calendar Documents Pictures Colonel Henry Hollingsworth Chapter Patriot Graves


Officers

Telephone

Email

President

Charles T. Smolka, III

240-604-3495

president.henry-hollingsworth@mdssar.org

1st Vice President

Robert W. Jones

201-275-3465

vpresident1.henry-hollingsworth@mdssar.org

2nd Vice President

Vacant


vpresident2.henry-hollingsworth@mdssar.org

Secretary

Christopher T. Smithson

443-903-0135

secretary.henry-hollingsworth@mdssar.org

Treasurer

Hobert S. Halsey, Jr

443-392-4843

treasurer.henry-hollingsworth@mdssar.org

Registrar

Christopher T. Smithson

443-903-0135

registrar.henry-hollingsworth@mdssar.org

Historian

Alfred C. Jones, III

20925-2581

historian.henry-hollingsworth@mdssar.org

Chapter Email - Henry-Hollingsworth@mdssar.org

Annual Meeting - December

Click - If you would like to join       

Copyright © 2022 - Maryland Society, Sons of the American Revolution | All Rights Reserved

Maryland Society SAR Secretary - secretary@mdssar.org

Legal | Contact

Maryland Society SAR Webmaster - webmaster@mdssar.org


Powered by Interserver.net Where Our Revolutionary Patriots are Buried

Click Here for Help and More Information