Home About Us - Main Page Our Chapters - Main Page Calendar     Maryland 400 - Main Page 250th Anniversary - Main Page   Membership - Main Page Genealogical Resources - Main Page Youth Programs - Main Page Contact Us       Member Section - Main Page
Maryland Society, Sons of the  American Revolution

The Colonel Aquila Hall Chapter was first organized and chartered on September 10, 1920, primarily through the efforts of the Honorable James H. Preston of Baltimore and the Honorable Walter Preston of Bel Air. It was the first Chapter in the State of Maryland, but soon fell inactive.  Efforts by Armard V. Motsinger in 1968 to bring it back were unsuccessful.

 In 1975 Col. James F. McClanahan rejuvenated the interest of the SAR in Harford County and on April 10, 1976 the Maryland Society, SAR certified the existence of the Chapter once again.  Formally, twenty-two Charter members met at the Red Fox Restaurant in Bel Air, Maryland on  November 6, 1976 and, with thirty-four guests, reformed the Chapter.  The Maryland Society Color Guard presented the Colors and President Carl F. Bessent addressed the assemblage and presented the Charter.

 The Chapter namesake, Colonel Aquila Hall (1727-1779), was High Sheriff of Baltimore County, served in the Maryland House of Burgesses, and was the Colonel of the Upper Battalion of Harford County during the Revolutionary War. He was Chairman of the Committee that wrote and signed the famous Bush Declaration in March, 1775. Aquila Hall was one of the Lord Justices of Harford County and the most prominent and influential man of his time. His mansion, “Sophia’s Dairy,” built in 1768, still stands near Belcamp, Maryland. Col Aquila Hall died in 1779, and efforts recently to locate his grave have been unsuccessful.

 The Chapter carries on the duties of the Sons of the American Revolution in Harford County. Each year they present the Bronze Good Citizenship Medal to outstanding high school students, and the Law Enforcement Medal to a member of the Harford County Sheriff’s Dept. Both programs have been successfully managed since 1978, primarily dues to the efforts of the Honorable William O. Carr, Wilford A. Councill, and Henry C. Peden, Jr. In fact, the Chapter initiated the practice of attending graduation ceremonies at the various schools. It has met with much success that other Chapters have adopted this procedure.


Officers

Telephone

Email

President

Donald W. Eberhardt Jr

443-602-2008

president.aquila-hall@mdssar.org

Vice President

Daniel J. Earnshaw

410-688-4616

vicepresident.aquila-hall@mdssar.org

Secretary

Raymond J. Lazzaro

410-638-2985

secretary.aquila-hall@mdssar.org

Treasurer

David W. Hoover

410-893-0856

treasurer.aquila-hall@mdssar.org

Registrar

Christopher T. Smithson

443-903-0135

registrar.aquila-hall@mdssar.org

Chancellor

William C. Batton, Esq

410-877-2455

chancellor.aquila-hall@mdssar.org

Chaplain

C. Louis Raborg, Jr

410-879-2246

chaplain.aquila-hall@mdssar.org

Historian

Stephen C. Clark

410-838-2623

historian.aquila-hall@mdssar.org

Chapter Email - Aquila-Hall@mdssar.org

Annual Meeting - September

Serving Harford County

Calendar  Documents   Pictures  Colonel Aquila Hall Chapter Click - If you would like to join        Aquila Hall

Copyright © 2022 - Maryland Society, Sons of the American Revolution | All Rights Reserved

Daniel Earnshaw - MDSSAR Secretary

Legal | Contact

Mark D. Deeds - MDSSAR Webmaster - webmaster@mdssar.org


Powered by Interserver.net